New Member: WCM K? Grand National - Strip and Rebuild

This is your place to post your restoration from start to finish. Factory built cars only. All others go in the home brew section.
SMC

New Member: WCM K? Grand National - Strip and Rebuild

Post by SMC »

Ok Gentz... Newbie here in Minneapolis MN

Got a WCM 1:4 Scale Grand National two days ago.

Sadly, it was in a shop which caught fire.... It wasn't in contact with flames, but the heat was enough to melt the body, foam, tires, rims, plastic heims... etc
Then, the guy let it sit outside since early summer.... Booooo.
I move fast on projects, so first pic is crappy at night in the dark, so you really can't see much. I had already peeled most of the body off the tubing and stuff...

Engine is intact, as is the engine wiring... good compression, good spark. Haven't tried to fuel it yet but I will this weekend.

So far she is stripped. Down to a bare frame.

She is soaking with Aircraft Paint Stripper now, since I don't have immediate sandblast access and I'm impatient.

Parts I have for re-assembly:

USED Plastic 2 Piece 4 Bolt Wheels (Which I'll need to drill for my 6 bolt hubs) - nice wheels like new, with OK foam and bands
NEW aluminum drive 'sprocket', two new plastic rear 'sprockets'
USED Aluminum shocks, 3 full sets of springs so I have options. No leaks. Good Hardware. Smooth
NEW Clutch arms/pads/spring
NEW Recoil (The one on the engine works, but handle is pretty janky lookin... warped)
10-15 NEW Metal Heims, and 8-10 NEW Plastic Heims
NEW Carb and filter housing
USED Body, Sponsored by rural suburb bar
Misc other stuff

So, short of a Radio, I have everything I need to get her rockin like new.

I think the motor is gonna be ok... no signs of anything leading me to think it won't be ok. Seems like a Zenoah 230RC??? Is that right? 230RC??