New guy- RACO Jack Rabbit Restoration and Issues

This is your place to post your restoration from start to finish. Factory built cars only. All others go in the home brew section.
jtherrien

New guy- RACO Jack Rabbit Restoration and Issues

Post by jtherrien »

Hey guys-

I'm new to quarterscalelegends.com and the 1/4 scale hobby. I just purchased a RACO Jack Rabbit because I thought that 2-stroke would be way easier than nitro. And honestly, they are way cooler than the average Baja.

The car looks pretty good minus a few flaws. The plastic shock tower in the front seems a bit bent to one side, and I think I might need to buy a new one (if I can find one). Also, there's a squeaking sound coming from what seems to be the clutch inside of the coupling behind the engine. I'm afraid to oil the area b/c its a clutch- any suggestions as to what I should do? The squeaking is only momentary- it occurs as the engine rotates. The control arms also squeak, so I plan to oil those.

The buggy is (was) "RTR" with a standard TRAXXAS 27mhz tx and a rebuilt Zenoah which starts usually on the first or second pull. So far, I've only done cosmetic work on the aluminum parts w/ some Mother's mags& aluminum polish- it looks great. Came w/ iNTEGY shocks front & rear. I plan to add a 2.4ghz tx/rx system and a fail safe to the 3rd channel. I'm replacing the old servos w/ metal gear Futaba s3306mg's.

Any suggestions? solutions to the squeaks? Your help and patience is greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Jared
Al Gibson (QSL)
Legacy Member

Re: New guy- RACO Jack Rabbit Restoration and Issues

Post by Al Gibson (QSL) »

jtherrien

Welcome to QSL, i hope that you enjoy the site. There are a bunch of people on this site that know everything there is to know about your car. I am sure help will arrive shortly. Thanks for joining QSL, Al Gibson
vwguru75
1/4 scale guru

Post by vwguru75 »

Welcome to the large scale world!